My TBR Jar
My TBR Jar

Yesterday, on Pinterest, I found an idea to make a To Be Read jar for those times when you just can’t decide what to read. That has definitely been a problem for me lately. Not too long ago my boyfriends daughter mocked me for my leaning tower of books. It had about 100 books in it (it was multiple piles) that I was trying to go through to pick what I would read after I finish Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan.

I went out to my local store, found the biggest jar I could (and it was only 5.00!) 400 post it notes and I started my project. I went through my library and my kindle and found all the books I own but have yet to read.

There are 226 post it notes in that jar.

226 books I own that I haven’t read. And there are so many more that I don’t own that I want to read. And I’m discovering more all the time and more books are coming out all the time that I want to read.

Which sends me into a little bit of a panic.

I’m never going to have time to read all the books I want to read. Not between work and a social life(meager though it may be) There is always going to be another book I want to read. Always.

That jar doesn’t even include short story books or compilations (Like ‘Rogues’ edited by GRRM) It doesn’t include the Annotated Sandman’s that I want to go through at some point.

There’s always another book. But there isn’t always more time.

Quite the conundrum.

Leave a Reply

