The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

Lies of Locke

Synopsis: An orphan’s life is harsh—and often short—in the mysterious island city of Camorr. But young Locke Lamora dodges death and slavery, becoming a thief under the tutelage of a gifted con artist. As leader of the band of light-fingered brothers known as the Gentleman Bastards, Locke is soon infamous, fooling even the underworld’s most feared ruler. But in the shadows lurks someone still more ambitious and deadly. Faced with a bloody coup that threatens to destroy everyone and everything that holds meaning in his mercenary life, Locke vows to beat the enemy at his own brutal game—or die trying.

Rating: 5/5

Cons: None.

Pros: This book is amazing

Recently I have been browsing /r/booksuggestions on Reddit for new series to read. I mean, I have lists of series on my wall for me to read but why not find some new ones?

And it has seemed that every time someone mentions they are looking for a new Fantasy book, no matter the original posters criteria for a book, Lies of Locke Lamora always comes up.

I’m not going to lie: The above synopsis did not intrigue me until after I had started reading. Had I accidentally found Lies on Amazon I don’t think I would have bought it.

It was what everyone was saying about the book-things not at all indicated in the actual summary of the book-that made me buy it as well as the passion people seemed to have for this book.

I received it, read the first chapter and had to force myself to put it down because I was working on the His Dark Materials trilogy and I wanted to finish those before I picked anything up. But I was anxious to get started after just that little taste.

When I finally had the chance to pick it up, it was a few hours after I finished The Amber Spyglass. I meant to read maybe twenty or thirty pages before bed(I figured I wouldn’t get more than ten pages in before I got distracted but I try to be optimistic) I read nearly one-hundred and thirty pages, went to bed, got up and continued reading.

This book is absolutely amazing. One part Oceans Eleven Heist, One part Count of Monte Cristo Revenge , one part Carrie revenge novel and one part something completely inexplicable, this book has it all. It has pirates, it has thieves, guilds, some magic, cursing. You name it, this book probably as it. There is even a background chapter where a group of prostitutes rise up against their pimps in a dark and bloody revolution.

The writing style is also very unique. Every other chapter is a flashback. For the first half of the book it is background on Locke or his friends and how they were trained to be the Gentleman Bastards. Then the background chapters branch out into background on the city.

He builds the world as the characters move through it as opposed to how many authors world build-separately from the characters. And the world is gorgeous and full and definitely well thought out. I look forward to learning more about the civilizations that are briefly mentioned in Lies that disappeared one day though their architecture remains(and no one knows anything else about them)

There were several times reading this when Locke and his gang of Bastards would do something and I would put down the book and slow clap in the middle of my living room because the brilliance or audacity of it was a thing of beauty.

There were also times when I would set the book down and just stare out the window. My boyfriend stopped playing Skyrim one day and looked at me and asked, “Are you all right.”

I told him I was and he said,

“You look like you’re in shock or something.” To which I replied,

“This book is fucked up.” He laughed. And I repeated myself. “This book is fucked up.

This book has twists and turns every which way. Some you will see coming ahead of time(or so you think), some you will see coming in hindsight and some will come out of nowhere and rail over you like a freight train leaving you stunned and bloody.

But despite the twists and turns it never feels like Lynch is doing the twists just because he can. You never get whiplash from reading this like you do with some books. He managed to pull off a perfect balance of action and surprise that never felt forced.

I cannot say enough good things about this book. I wasn’t even finished with it before I was recommending it to everyone I know who has ever picked up a book in their lives.

If you own an E-reader, pick it up right now.(If you still aren’t convinced then have a sample sent to your e-reader and you will be dying to know more immediately) If you don’t have an E-reader, on Amazon (see the link above) you can “Look Inside” on your PC.  Then head down to your local book store and pick it up.

You will not regret it.

I’ll be filming my video where I’m going to talk more about it later today and the actual video review should be up tomorrow afternoon so check back.

If you aren’t convinced after that then there really is no help for you.

-M-

P.S. Don’t forget to follow my blog for my weekly reviews along with other random things that my brain spits out between readings!

Leave a Reply

