There won’t be a video this week. Some events have arisen in my family and I won’t be to give the time and attention to filming and editing that I would like so I’m going to do a slightly more comprehensive written review here.

subtle_knife

 

The Subtle Knife by Phillip Pullman

Rating: 5/5

SummaryLyra finds herself in a shimmering, haunted underworld-Cittàgazze, where soul-eating Specters stalk the streets and wingbeats of distant angels sound against the sky. But she is not without allies: 12-year-old Will Parry, fleeing for his life after taking another’s, has also stumbled into this strange new realm. On a perilous journey from world to world, Lyra and Will discover an object of devastating power. And with every step, they move closer to an even greater threat-and the shattering truth of their own destiny.

 

I loved this book. I thought it was a good step up from The Golden Compass.  If you missed my last review the summary is that I enjoyed the first book in the His Dark Materials trilogy but I thought it was flawed. Particularly the main character.

In The Subtle Knife, the reader is following many different characters. Lyra(the main character from the first book) is hardly ever front and center. Instead you follow Will. A boy with a tragic past who accidentally finds himself in a world similar to his own world but also significantly different.

You also follow a group of witches and a couple of men with their own agendas.

All of the characters have their own purposes that is driving them in the same direction. Towards an imminent war with God (called the Authority)

The Divinity aspect touched on towards the end of the first book gets a little bit heavier and detailed in book 2 with some interesting takes on Genesis towards the end which I enjoyed a great deal.

The idea that Dust is Divinity and that it has a consciousness was fascinating and I’m looking forward to seeing it expanded upon.

The biggest weakness with this book, for me, is Lyra once again but fortunately in this book she takes a back seat to the more interesting characters.(I don’t know that interesting is the right word…what is happening with Lyra herself is very engaging. Lyra herself is not which, for me, sometimes  taints the events themselves)

It was very good and I am interested to see the climax to this war that has been building for two books.

See you next week with the final book of His Dark Materials: The Amber Spyglass

-m-

 

One thought on “Subtle Knife by Phillip Pullman Review

Leave a Reply

