kindle

 

Four Christmases ago my boyfriend bought me a Kindle. I use my Kindle all the time. I have sooo many digital books it’s not even funny.

I also have five bookshelves, each over six feet tall and four feet deep stacked and double stacked with books. I also have books stacked on each of the side tables by my couch.  I am going to make book ends for them so I can actually set them up and have them look as pretty as the rest of my books.

I would have a library  in my apartment right now if it had not been more practical to have a guest room when one has out of town family and friends you want to come stay.(It’s a decision I know was the right one but I still try and find my way around…a rug and a bean bag chair would look so good surrounded by shelves on all sides instead of a bed…just saying)

I don’t prefer my library to my Kindle. I don’t think most people really do once they have an E-reader.

And yet everywhere online I go-Pinterest, Reddit, Facebook-I am inundated by the sentiment in the picture above. That E-Readers are somehow inferior. (That was honestly a nicer picture than some of the others I have seen) and quite frankly it’s tiring.

Why is it your business how someone chooses to read? Sometimes I want to be able to carry an entire series of books with me without weighing down my purse or suitcase. I also read a lot of Fantasy and those books can get INCREDIBLY heavy. Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson is a 1300 page, 5lb paperback that exhausted my fingers about halfway through reading. The sequel, Words of Radiance, that is coming out in March I have already pre-ordered on my Kindle. My hands won’t hurt reading that one. (I don’t even want to think about how heavy the Hardcover would be)

And sometimes I crave the weight of a book in my hands. The feel of the different kinds of paper as I turn the page. I like pulling out a book on a bus or on a trip and sometimes I like to see what other people are reading. I like not worrying about a battery if I’m going on a trip. (I don’t have to worry about my Kindle most of the time but I do anyway)

E-readers and real books are different experiences from one another. Someday I will have enough money to buy real books for every Kindle book that  I buy and then I will be able to go back and forth at my leisure and the balance will be perfect.

In the meantime, I go by feel. When I’m shopping on Amazon for books I think “Do I feel like holding a real book or do I feel like holding my Kindle?” Not even joking. That’s a huge factor in my decision. And sometimes I want to go to a real bookstore and peruse the shelves. Not very often where I live. (If I lived in Portland that would be a WHOOOOOLE other story)

So I guess the point of this post is  to ask people to just  stop trying to make people feel bad for how they read. If they read on a Nook and you read on a Kindle and you feel yours is superior that’s fine. Keep your mouth shut. And Vice Versa, obviously.

If you have a library full of books and you think that E-Readers are somehow trying to take that away from you fine. Keep your mouth shut.

The point is not how we read. It’s what we read. The person in the park who you lectured about owning an E-reader and why real books are superior might have, at that very moment, been reading one of your favorite authors. You could have made a friend instead of someone who probably doesn’t want to go back to that park to read.

Books are wonderful no matter what form they come in.

-m-

P.S. I know “War on E-readers” is an over-dramatic title but you get the point…

3 thoughts on “The War On E-Readers

  1. Yeah, I don’t understand this elitist “print books are the only real books” thing. A book is a book. A book format does not indicate superiority or inferiority. It’s the same words by the same author. People who rail on e-readers need to get over themselves.

    Like you, I have both print and e-books, and honestly, I prefer print books but read e-books all the time. Cost. Portability. More storage, less space. A ton of reasons. I’ll always like print books more, by my e-reader is an incredibly useful piece of technology that expands my ability to read.

  2. I love my Kindle it opened a door to more authors who exclusively publish on E-Reader and it is easier to babysit a young kid, with a book you have to set it down (in a safe place), pick it up again and find your place again. Then it is much harder for the toddler to feed the Kindle to the dog or sink in in a bathtub. I also live on a very low budget. I never buy hardcovers so I have to wait a year or more for a hardcover to print as a soft — and I am impatient. In a town like mine you can only get commercial fictions or Christian Romance — small town in the Bible belt woes, but the Kindle doesn’t have that limitation.
    I do love my printed books. I have shelves and shelves, an entire side of my closet, and chests of printed books.

Leave a Reply

