Hi Everyone!

I’m a couple days late with this segment. 

I’ve been really busy(Holidays and all that) and as soon as the Holiday Season ended (Jan 1st) I got really sick. Which I’m not quite over yet. With that being said, my comments on the books this month will be fairly brief. Perhaps that will make them more enjoyable? 🙂 Hope you enjoy.

Without further ado:

January What’s In My Queue

1) The Fault In Our Stars

fault-in-our-stars

 

Synopsis:Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

This book is everywhere, isn’t it? You cannot go to the book section of a store and not see this book along with other John Green books. But mostly this one.

I have never read a John Green book and if this book wasn’t so highly recommended in every book thread on r/booksuggestions that I open I don’t know that I would have ever picked it up myself. It does sound interesting-just not something I would have naturally steered toward myself. 

Hopefully it’s as good as it’s hype!

 

2)Elantris by Brandon Sanderson

 

Elantris

 

Synopsis: Elantris was the capital of Arelon: gigantic, beautiful, literally radiant, filled with benevolent beings who used their powerful magical abilities for the benefit of all. Yet each of these demigods was once an ordinary person until touched by the mysterious transforming power of the Shaod. Ten years ago, without warning, the magic failed. Elantrians became wizened, leper-like, powerless creatures, and Elantris itself dark, filthy, and crumbling.

Arelon’s new capital, Kae, crouches in the shadow of Elantris. Princess Sarene of Teod arrives for a marriage of state with Crown Prince Raoden, hoping — based on their correspondence — to also find love. She finds instead that Raoden has died and she is considered his widow. Both Teod and Arelon are under threat as the last remaining holdouts against the imperial ambitions of the ruthless religious fanatics of Fjordell. So Sarene decides to use her new status to counter the machinations of Hrathen, a Fjordell high priest who has come to Kae to convert Arelon and claim it for his emperor and his god. 

But neither Sarene nor Hrathen suspect the truth about Prince Raoden. Stricken by the same curse that ruined Elantris, Raoden was secretly exiled by his father to the dark city. His struggle to help the wretches trapped there begins a series of events that will bring hope to Arelon, and perhaps reveal the secret of Elantris itself.

If any of you have been following my blog at all you know that I am quite the Brandon Sanderson fan. I have loved pretty much everything that I have read by him. (I will admit I have not read the Robert Jordan series so I can’t comment on what he did there) That being said, I’ve tried Elantris before and got a few hundred pages in before putting it down. I was interested in what was happening but for whatever reason it could not keep my attention. I hope to be better about that this time around.

 

3)Soul Music-Terry Pratchett

Soul Music

Synopsis: When her dear old Granddad — the Grim Reaper himself — goes missing, Susan takes over the family business. The progeny of Death’s adopted daughter and his apprentice, she shows real talent for the trade. That is until a little string in her heart goes “twang.”

With a head full of dreams and a pocketful of lint,Imp the Bard lands in Ankh-Morpork, yearning to become a rock star. Determined to devote his life to music, the unlucky fellow soon finds that all his dreams are coming true. Well almost.

In this finger-snapping, toe-tapping tale of youth,Death, and rocks that roll, Terry Pratchett once again demonstrates the wit and genius that have propelled him to the highest echelons of parody next to Mark Twain, Kurt Vonnegut, Douglas Adams, and Carl Hiaasen.

I love Terry Pratchett and the Discworld series-as some of you may know-and from what I have read so far, the Death Series of Discworld is my favorite. This story is part of his timeline even though he isn’t as prominently featured as he is in some of the other books but it’s also about a group of people trying to be musicians-which is something very close to my heart.

It sounds hilarious and Pratchett is a fantastic author. I can’t wait to see what he has in store for me this time.

 

4)Tipping Point-Malcolm Gladwell

Tipping Point

Synopsis:The tipping point is that magic moment when an idea, trend, or social behavior crosses a threshold, tips, and spreads like wildfire. Just as a single sick person can start an epidemic of the flu, so too can a small but precisely targeted push cause a fashion trend, the popularity of a new product, or a drop in the crime rate. This widely acclaimed bestseller, in which Malcolm Gladwell explores and brilliantly illuminates the tipping point phenomenon, is already changing the way people throughout the world think about selling products and disseminating ideas.

I think Gladwell is amazing. I have read a few of his other books and loved them. I know the internet is enjoying hating on him lately but I have yet to see anything legitimate. But, Gladwell was brought back to my attention because of all of the hate that resurfaced after his latest book came out. So I guess that can be seen as a plus. 

“The Tipping Point” about how the smallest things can have the biggest impacts. It’s a subject that I find incredibly fascinating and I look forward to seeing what he has to say.

 

5)The Night  Circus-Erin Morgenstern 

THE-NIGHT-CIRCUS

Synopsis: The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night. 

But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway—a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will. Despite themselves, however, Celia and Marco tumble headfirst into love—a deep, magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands. 

True love or not, the game must play out, and the fates of everyone involved, from the cast of extraordinary circus per­formers to the patrons, hang in the balance, suspended as precariously as the daring acrobats overhead. 

I have heard zero things about this book. I have seen it all over the place and read the synopsis multiple times but I have never heard a single person talking about it and I haven’t looked at the reviews. But I bought it for my Kindle anyway. Because it sounds really really interesting. So…I hope it doesn’t disappoint.

 

6)The Lies of Locke Lamora-Scott Lynch

Lies of Locke

Synopsis: An orphan’s life is harsh—and often short—in the mysterious island city of Camorr. But young Locke Lamora dodges death and slavery, becoming a thief under the tutelage of a gifted con artist. As leader of the band of light-fingered brothers known as the Gentleman Bastards, Locke is soon infamous, fooling even the underworld’s most feared ruler. But in the shadows lurks someone still more ambitious and deadly. Faced with a bloody coup that threatens to destroy everyone and everything that holds meaning in his mercenary life, Locke vows to beat the enemy at his own brutal game—or die trying.

This is another book that r/booksuggestions cannot get enough of. Every link I click on features this, Song of Ice and Fire, Kingkiller Chronicles and (if the suggestions aren’t Fantasy based)  Fault In Our Stars. I’ve already mentioned Fault in Our Stars, Song of Ice and Fire will be featured next month and I’ve read the two of the Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss that have been released. So that leaves this book.

I’ve seen this book featured in threads that have nothing to do with fantasy. People request all sorts of book genres and Lies of Locke Lamora is inevitably at the top of the thread. So I picked it up from Amazon. I’m kind of skeptical because it doesn’t sound SUPER intriguing to me, but it sounds interesting enough. What it will probably come down to is writing style-which is supposed to be impeccable. Here’s hoping!

 

7)City of Lost Souls-Cassandra Clare

LostSouls

Synopsis:What price is too high to pay, even for love? When Jace and Clary meet again, Clary is horrified to discover that the demon Lilith’s magic has bound her beloved Jace together with her evil brother Sebastian, and that Jace has become a servant of evil. The Clave is out to destroy Sebastian, but there is no way to harm one boy without destroying the other. As Alec, Magnus, Simon, and Isabelle wheedle and bargain with Seelies, demons, and the merciless Iron Sisters to try to save Jace, Clary plays a dangerous game of her own. The price of losing is not just her own life, but Jace’s soul. She’s willing to do anything for Jace, but can she still trust him? Or is he truly lost?

If I had to pick one of the book series I have read that I would consider a guilty pleasure it would definitely be the Mortal Instruments series.

The first couple books are not well written, though the writing quality improves over the books. The stories are interesting and most of the time engaging while being equal parts cliche. Especially the teenage romance which drives me a little bit up the wall. 

Overall, however, I do enjoy the stories. The lore of the worlds is thought out and original most of the time. Where it is not completely her own creation it is an interesting twist on lore most of us are already familiar with.

 City of Lost Souls is the fifth out of six (the Sixth to be released in May I believe) I read the other four in a week sometime last year and then I was burnt out on the world and needed to go explore somewhere else. But I am back. 

8)Inferno-Dan Brown

Inferno

 

Synopsis:In the heart of Italy, Harvard professor of symbology Robert Langdon is drawn into a harrowing world centered on one of history’s most enduring and mysterious literary masterpieces . . . Dante’s Inferno.

Against this backdrop, Langdon battles a chilling adversary and grapples with an ingenious riddle that pulls him into a landscape of classic art, secret passageways, and futuristic science. Drawing from Dante’s dark epic poem, Langdon races to find answers and decide whom to trust . . . before the world is irrevocably altered.

Dan Brown is another author that the internet loves to hate but I don’t really understand why. He’s not a life changing author but his books are fun, well paced and well written. You don’t read them as History texts-obviously. 

I’ve read Angels and Demons and The Da Vinci Code and I liked them both. I loved Digital Fortress and Deception Point. I bought The Lost Symbol and then lent it out before I ever ready it and I have not seen it since, sadly. But I heard Inferno was coming out. A Robert Langdon Twist on Dante’s Inferno. Sounds like a fun ride to me!

 

9)Warded Man-Peter V. Brett

Warded

Synopsis:As darkness falls after sunset, the corelings rise—demons who possess supernatural powers and burn with a consuming hatred of humanity. For hundreds of years the demons have terrorized the night, slowly culling the human herd that shelters behind magical wards—symbols of power whose origins are lost in myth and whose protection is terrifyingly fragile. It was not always this way. Once, men and women battled the corelings on equal terms, but those days are gone. Night by night the demons grow stronger, while human numbers dwindle under their relentless assault. Now, with hope for the future fading, three young survivors of vicious demon attacks will dare the impossible, stepping beyond the crumbling safety of the wards to risk everything in a desperate quest to regain the secrets of the past. Together, they will stand against the night.

I picked this book up for two reasons:

1) He is a favorite author of one of my favorite authors (Brent Weeks) and apparently a great guy according to a couple of my friends who have met him once or twice in the Portland area.

2) A bunch of my friends who share the same taste in books as me were suddenly reading it

So I bought it. It sounded pretty interesting so I picked it up in June. And now it has been sitting on my shelf for six months waiting for me. I became hesitant to pick it up after I heard a single sentence uttered out of the mouths of every person who has read it-even though they haven’t met each other. “It was good. It had it’s problems but it was good”  So I have become wary. Hopefully, though, it’s enjoyable enough to overlook any issues it might have.

10) Howl’s Moving Castle-Diana Wynne Jones

Howl

 

Synopsis: Sophie has the great misfortune of being the eldest of three daughters, destined to fail miserably should she ever leave home to seek her fate. But when she unwittingly attracts the ire of the Witch of the Waste, Sophie finds herself under a horrid spell that transforms her into an old lady. Her only chance at breaking it lies in the ever-moving castle in the hills: the Wizard Howl’s castle. To untangle the enchantment, Sophie must handle the heartless Howl, strike a bargain with a fire demon, and meet the Witch of the Waste head-on. Along the way, she discovers that there’s far more to Howl—and herself—than first meets the eye.

I CAN NOT BELIEVE I haven’t written about this one before. I haven’t, have I? I went through my posts trying to find it because I was certain I must have written about it before…but I could not find it! Which is crazy!

Anyway, I first encountered Howl’s Moving Castle in movie form. Loved the movie. I went looking for the movie and I found out that not only is it a book, it is a book by one of my favorite authors!  And not only that but it is a series! So I bought the first one but I just haven’t had the chance to get around to it yet. But I intend to very soon.

 

And that’s it guys. I hope you enjoyed. I’m off to watch Sam play Skyrim, drink some Orange Juice and fall asleep. Hope you enjoyed the blog. Hit “Follow” if you want to see follow up reviews of what you have seen here! (Iron Angel and Golden Compass reviews should be on their way this month)

 

-M-

Leave a Reply

