I was writing a blog the other day, ranting, because someone I consider a friend had accused me of something completely out of left field. I don’t know that he meant it to be offensive but, to me, it really really was.

This came on the heels of someone else taking something I had said and completely misinterpreting it. They told other people their interpretation of what I had said and I was met with a great deal of hate from people who never even bothered to ask me if what this other person had said was true.

I did tie it back to art, as I will here, but I chose not to post it because I was afraid it sounded too much like a rant and not enough like constructive advice. So it went into my drafts where it will likely die.

After I had put that blog in my drafts I found a picture-I think someone posted it on Facebook-that said something a long the lines of “with the right storyteller, anyone can be the villain” (I tried to find the original but I couldn’t. Google has failed me. But I think you get the gist of what I am trying to say)

Finding that quote I found myself thinking about my two experiences.

Which leads me to my headline.

You will always be the villain in someone else’s story.

There will always be someone around-whether you know them personally or not-who will hate everything you ever do just because it’s you doing it.

There will always be people telling you what your motives are. They are usually wrong, but they won’t hesitate to tell you what you really think about something. Regardless of what you have said you think about it.

There will always be people telling you that what you are doing is wrong or stupid or useless or repetitive or pointless or cruel or…you get the point.

People in the world have set up hate sites for Mother Theresa.

No one is immune. It is the price of living in the computer age. If you are going to put yourself out publicly in anyway, if you dare to bare  your soul to the world SOMEONE is going to hate you for it.

So do what you were going to do anyway. Make art that makes you happy. Write and draw and sing and take pictures and do beautiful things that bring you joy and bring joy for the simple reason that it brings you joy.

Screw everyone else. If you’re going to be the villain you might as well get some enjoyment out of it.

-M-

5 thoughts on “You Will Always Be The Villain in Someone Else’s Story

  1. Loved your headline and what followed did not disappoint. I got some of the same from a friend not that long ago. Worried about it for a couple of days. Tried to explain my position and got nothing back. Silence. Not that much of a friend then. hey? 🙂
    I wish I could think of a way of making this into a Let’s Talk Opinion piece. I will see if I can figure it out. Will save the link just in case an idea sparks up and I can come up with some questions to go with it.
    Very well done. I liked your honesty and the ‘devil may care’ attitude. Look forward to more.

    1. Thank you! I’m glad you liked it!

      Let me know if you come up with anything for a “Let’s Talk Opinion” piece. I would be interested to see what responses come about. 🙂

      -M-

Leave a Reply

