Hello again,

It is the afternoon of the 13th.

I did not get to finish my 50,000 words yesterday. I was given a great deal of work to do for the newspaper. I got about 2000 words in but I was so irritated most of the night I couldn’t concentrate.

I have officially hit 50,000(and some change) as of today. Which is exciting. I have a list of things I need to change in re-writes going in a binder I have cordoned off just for Jacob’s Ladder but, going forward with those changes in mind, the last 10-20,000 words will be set.

Edit in December.

Beta readers in January.

Hopefully.

After this I have a novel I was working on prior to November that I can’t wait to get back to and I had an idea I’m really really excited writing come to me as I was waking up a few mornings ago. I have been working on the idea ever since and it keeps getting better. It’s going to be a novella instead of a novel, I think, because the pacing that will be required won’t allow more than probably 20-25,000 words. We’ll see what happens though.

I hope to keep my writing habits strong even after November. Writing for a word count rather than what I feel like. I have found that knowing how many words I want has been tremendously helpful in pushing through anxiety or boredom I may have encountered during my writing. Where, previously, I would take a break and maybe not go back to it for a week or so, some of my best writing for the last 50,000 words has come from pushing through the “I don’t wanna’s”

So that’s my NaNo update for today. I will keep you updated as more words pour out and more lessons are learned. (I actually had two or three things last night that I had decided to put into this blog when I updated it but now I can’t remember what they are)

Now, to reward myself, I am going to start a new book. 

How is everyone else doing? What are your word counts? Do you think you’ll hit your goals?

 

-M-

Leave a Reply

