Written August 2011-

 

The main rule of writing is that if you do it with enough assurance and confidence, you’re allowed to do whatever you like. (That may be a rule for life as well as for writing. But it’s definitely true for writing.) So write your story as it needs to be written. Write it honestly, and tell it as best you can. I’m not sure that there are any other rules. Not ones that matter.

NEIL GAIMAN

Remember how I said Neil Gaiman was my favorite writer? This is why.

I have said this same thing for years in different words and then just found this quote today. Its nice to know that I’m not crazy.

Sometimes people tell me “well…you should change this character to this” or “it would be better if you did this.” And sometimes they have good ideas I didn’t think of. Most of the time, I say(or just think and keep my mouth shut depending on who is talking) “But that’s not how my story goes…that’s not my story…” There have been times I have tried to write something a way other than what I initially thought and it never works out.

Just last night I ended up writing an entire chapter in my new novel from the perspective of the angel Gabriel. When I started writing the chapter, it was going to be maybe three paragraphs and Gabriel wasn’t the angel. It ended up being several pages. Gabriel had more to say than I thought he did. From a filler chapter to a whole new character added in to the mix. Because that is how my story needs to be told.

Sometimes when I tell people how my stories come to be, they look at me like I should be put into a psych hospital. My characters talk to me. They tell me their story and I write it down and I love my characters because they are full people. At least to me. I hope I convey all sides of their personality well.

So when someone says “well…you should have this character do this because it makes him more ‘relate-able’” I say “But that’s not my character. My character is a schizophrenic demon. Not a demon at war with himself and what he is vs what he is supposed to be” A) That character has been done. All the time. B) THAT’S NOT MY CHARACTER. 😀 If you want it done that way, then write it your way. I am open to suggestions, but sometimes the story is what the story is and you have to let it be what it needs to be, or it gets ruined and stops being fun to write because you end up having to force it.

My main point being: At least I’m not crazy. When someone you admire says something that you have always said and been met with looks of disdain, its a good kind of morale booster.

 

 
Leave a Reply

